Go straight to this page's main part
Dental Implant Cost Estimator

Where every number comes from

The price surveys, agency pages and studies behind the estimators: what each supplies, when it was read and any interest the source has.

9 minutes to read / Next price check due 2026-12-07

Mark your teeth once and this phone keeps the chart; once installed it opens with no signal.
What the implant estimator works out: 12 jobs

Every figure on the site leads back to a row on this page. Unless a row carries its own date, we read the US sources on October 30, 2026 and the treatment-abroad sources a day later; items rechecked on November 6, 2026 say so. If a publisher stands to gain from the subject, the row names that interest. This is also the one page that links to CareCredit, whose tables carry the Synchrony cost studies; elsewhere the site points here instead.

Prices

Source Used for Read Note
Dental Economics: comparative analysis of implant costs across major US markets Median $4,000 for a complete implant tooth; specialist $3,400, general dentist $4,800; six metro medians ($3,665 to $5,505) Survey Sept. 2025, published Feb. 1, 2026 Telephone survey of 278 offices; authors work at an oral surgery practice
CareCredit: dental procedure costs National averages for implants, grafts, sinus lift, extractions, crowns, bridges, dentures, cone-beam CT (2024 Synchrony study); veneers (footnoted on the page to the 2023 Synchrony study, cost tables of October 2023); the "standard endosteal implant, per tooth" line at $4,344, scope not stated; also, read 7 Nov 2026: dental bonding $431 per tooth, molar root canal $1,337, crown re-cement $126, broken crown repair $765, and "sedation" $349 and "anesthesia" $639 with the kind unstated (all on the 2024 study; no newer edition was on the page) Rechecked 6 and 7 Nov 2026 Publisher sells medical financing
CareCredit: single tooth implant $2,143 national average for a "full-size single tooth implant", $1,646 to $4,157 range, state table used for the index; what the price covers is not stated (we read it as the post) Article Feb. 20, 2026; 2024 study; rechecked 6 Nov 2026 A related card on the page gives $4,175 as the top of the range
CareCredit: All-on-4 cost $15,176 per arch, $11,640 to $27,500, state table Article Apr. 24, 2026; 2024 study Per-arch reading is ours, from the article's wording
CareCredit: 3 ways to replace missing teeth Denture and bridge ranges Dec. 6, 2024 Cites the 2023 and 2024 studies

How the two surveys are combined. Per tooth, the estimator shows three Dental Economics medians: specialists ($3,400), all offices ($4,000, the typical figure) and Minneapolis, the dearest city ($5,505). They are named medians, not the ends of a statistical range. Every price is then multiplied by the state's index: its Synchrony single-implant average divided by $2,143. Full-arch figures use the Synchrony state table directly. The calculations are ours.

Coverage and money

Source Used for
Medicare.gov: dental services Original Medicare doesn't cover routine dental care, extractions, dentures; medical exceptions, listed in full when reread on 7 Nov 2026 (transplants, cancer treatment, dialysis), with 20% of the approved amount after the Part B deductible for Part B services, a facility copayment in hospital outpatient settings, and Part A rules for inpatient stays (reread 7 Nov 2026)
Medicaid.gov: dental care Adult dental optional, no minimum; EPSDT for children
KFF: Medicare Advantage in 2026 (June 5, 2026) 98% of individual-plan enrollees have some dental; scope from cleanings only to crowns or dentures; prior authorization for most enrollees for some extra benefits; still no dollar caps (read 7 Nov 2026)
ADA News: 12 dental benefit terms (June 2, 2026) Definitions of least expensive alternative treatment, alternate benefit, downcoding and waiting period (read 7 Nov 2026)
ADA: least expensive alternative treatment clause The dentist may charge the patient the difference (read 7 Nov 2026; page undated)
HRSA: how to find low-cost dental care (last reviewed October 2026) Health centers charging by income, sliding fee discounts, supervised care at dental schools, CHIP to age 19 (read 7 Nov 2026)
Congressional Research Service: HSAs and Medicare, IF11425 (Feb. 11, 2020) No HSA contributions once enrolled in Medicare (26 U.S.C. 223(b)(7)); tax-free withdrawals continue; no 20% penalty after 65 (public copy, read 7 Nov 2026); enrollment after 65 is backdated up to six months, which can make contributions for those months taxable
KFF: Medicare Advantage 2026 Spotlight (Dec. 9, 2025) 98% of individual plans offer some dental in 2026, often with an annual dollar cap; no dollar figures (read 6 Nov 2026)
KFF: Medicare and dental coverage (July 28, 2021) 94% of MA enrollees with some dental; ~$1,300 average limit; 59% at $1,000 or less; 50% coinsurance most common
ADA News: annual maximums (Dec. 19, 2025) NADP maximum bands; 3.4% of patients reach the maximum (ADA HPI, 2024)
IRS Publication 502 (2025) Dental treatment, artificial teeth, cosmetic and whitening rules, 7.5% of AGI
IRS Publication 969 (2025) No double deduction of HSA-paid expenses; employer contributions and employment taxes; FSA salary contributions free of income and employment taxes; a health FSA may offer a carryover or a grace period of up to 2½ months, not both (FSA parts read 7 Nov 2026)
IRS Rev. Proc. 2025-19 2026 HSA limits $4,400 / $8,750
IRS Rev. Proc. 2026-24 2027 HSA limits $4,500 / $9,000 (read 6 Nov 2026)
IRS Rev. Proc. 2025-32 2026 health FSA limit $3,400, carryover $680
IRS news release IR-2026-133 (Nov. 5, 2026) 2027 health FSA limit $3,500, carryover $700, citing Rev. Proc. 2026-35 (read 6 Nov 2026)
26 U.S.C. 223 $1,000 HSA catch-up at 55
IRS Topic 751 Employee Social Security 6.2%, Medicare 1.45%
CFPB: medical credit cards and financing plans (May 2023) 26.99% typical APR; deferred interest

Clinical background

Source Used for
FDA: dental implants, what you should know (content current as of Oct. 29, 2021) Parts of an implant; risks; smoking and diabetes; talk to your provider; healing time; care afterwards and MedWatch reports (reread 7 Nov 2026)
ADA statement on implant practices (Nov. 1, 2024) Exam, options before financing, second opinions
ADA MouthHealthy: veneers and bridges What veneers and bridges are; veneers irreversible
AAP: ridge modification Causes of ridge deformities; 4 to 12 months of bone development, sometimes none (read 7 Nov 2026)
McGill consensus statement, Gerodontology 2002;19(1):3-4 and York consensus statement, Br Dent J 2009;207:185-186 Two-implant lower overdenture as the first choice for people with no lower teeth (read 7 Nov 2026)
Di Francesco et al., J Prosthodont Res 2019;63(1):15-24 and Raghoebar et al., Eur J Oral Implantol 2014;7 Suppl 2:S191-S201 Upper-jaw overdentures: at least four implants is the most frequent count across 28 studies; higher risk of implant loss with four unjoined implants (both read 7 Nov 2026)
AAP: sinus augmentation Upper back jaw; 4 to 12 months of bone development
ACP: frequency of denture replacement (2015, reaffirmed 2018) Replacement criteria include a prosthesis "in function for more than 5 years"; no evidence-based remake interval (its exact words are on the denture cost page; rechecked 6 Nov 2026)
Clinical Oral Implants Research 2012;23 Suppl 6:2-21 Implants under single crowns 95.2% and crowns 89.4% at 10 years
Clinical Oral Implants Research 2004;15(6):654-666 Conventional bridges 89.1% at 10 years
CDC: tooth loss fast facts (May 15, 2024) 15% of adults 65+ edentulous; 26% with 8 or fewer teeth

What we couldn't verify

  • Abutment prices on their own. The Dental Economics component table is published as an image we couldn't read, and no other public survey we found prices abutments separately.
  • The ADA's own fee survey. It is sold, not published free, so we don't quote it.
  • How long veneers, partial dentures and full-arch bridges last. No figure we could verify; the calculators show the assumption instead.
  • Sedation fees. The 2024 Synchrony table lists "sedation" ($349) and "anesthesia" ($639) without saying what kind either line covers (read 7 Nov 2026), so no figure is added automatically; type your own.

Map

The state map comes from Census Bureau TIGER/Line outlines, which are public domain, simplified for the screen.

How each figure is checked

This replaces the separate method page the site used to have.

  1. Read at the source. A figure is copied from the page that publishes it, never from a news story about it, and the reading date goes next to it. Where the publisher's wording is vague about scope (the $2,143 and $4,344 lines are examples), the page says so and labels any interpretation as ours.
  2. Counted honestly. "Typical" and "median" are used only where a survey or at least four comparable clinics stand behind the number. With fewer, the page gives the prices found and their median, called a rough middle; with just two, it lists both and names no middle. A minimum published by a source is shown as a floor, never as a price.
  3. Clinic prices. For other countries without a survey, only a clinic's own price list counts, and only lines covering post, abutment and crown together; the cheapest complete option per clinic is taken, and branches of one brand count once.
  4. Rechecked on a timetable. Each page shows when its figures were last read; the US surveys and IRS limits are reread when a new edition or year appears, clinic prices more often because they move.
  5. Arithmetic tested twice. The calculators work in your browser with fixed formulas. A separate implementation in another language, plus cases worked by hand (one tooth and a full arch, a plan maximum already used up, the cheapest and dearest states), is rerun after every change.
  6. Left out on purpose. Named practices and dentists, patient reviews, before-and-after photos and advice for one person's mouth.

The wording of the pages comes from an AI model, and nobody reviews it by hand at present; the page about the estimator explains the people and the program behind it and why that is disclosed.

Treatment abroad and public insurance (read October 31, 2026)

Seen a newer price survey or a figure that's off? Send a correction